The Academy of American Poets Laureate Fellowships are $50,000 - $100,000 awards given to honor poets of literary merit appointed to serve in civic positions and to enable them to undertake meaningful, impactful, and innovative projects that engage their fellow residents, including youth, with poetry, helping to address issues important to their communities. 

The fellowship award is unrestricted, however, the concept, scope, components, depth, and geographic reach of the proposed project, as well as the number of individuals to be served, will inform the recommended award made by a panel of award-winning poets and leaders in poetry and civic engagement. 

The fellowships were established with support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Applications are accepted from January 15, 2019 to March 3, 2019 (11:59 p.m. Eastern Standard Time).


Any poet who meets the below criteria as of January 1, 2019 is eligible:

  1. 21 years of age or older; 
  2. Currently serving as an official Poet Laureate of a state, city, US territory, or Tribal nation having been formally appointed to the position by a Governor, State Arts or Humanities Council, State Poet Laureate Commission, Tribe President, Mayor, City Council, City Poet Laureate Commission, City Arts Board, or a city’s public library system; 
  3. Published at least one collection of poetry (excluding self-published and or published with a subsidy press that requires payment by the author);
  4. Substantial publication history in a variety of journals and media; 
  5. Recognition in the field (including awards, fellowships, and prizes);
  6. Demonstrated commitment to promoting awareness of poetry; and
  7. Correctly completed application submitted by the deadline. 

Please note: By law the Academy of American Poets must report cash prizes awarded to individuals to the Internal Revenue Service. If individuals have a Social Security Number (SSN) or an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN), the individual will receive a 1099. If the individual does not have an SSN or ITIN, the individual will receive a 1042 and could be subject to a withholding of a percentage of the cash award.

Submissions guidelines:

In one continuous document, please submit:

  1. Your curriculum vitae, which includes your name and current contact information, the date of your appointment to Poet Laureate (please name the state, city, US territory, or Tribal nation of which you are Poet Laureate), and information such as your current and past employment, publication history, awards, performances and readings, past public poetry projects, and education; 
  2. a 1,000 word statement that includes a) a detailed description of the project or projects you would conduct within the next twelve months that engage youth and/or address important statewide or local issues, b) a timeline of activities, and c) a budget (while the fellowship award is unrestricted, this will demonstrate how funds will enable your project); and 
  3. two letters of recommendation from individuals who can attest to your ability and capacity to carry out their proposed project or projects, and their contact information.

Only online submissions are accepted for the Academy of American Poets Laureate Fellowships through our submission manager, Submittable.

Applications must be .doc, .docx, or .pdf files.

The Academy of American Poets assumes no responsibility for applications not received due to user error. Applicants may verify the receipt of their manuscript by logging into Submittable.

All applicants will be notified of the award results by email by April 30, 2019.

All correspondence concerning the fellowships should be addressed to the Academy of American Poets. Current Poets Laureate with questions about this opportunity may contact

The decisions of the Academy of American Poets as to eligibility are final. 

Ends on February 15, 2019
  • The Ambroggio Prize is a $1,000 publication prize given for a book-length poetry manuscript originally written in Spanish and with an English translation. The winning manuscript is published by Bilingual Press/Editorial Bilingüe, publisher of literary works, scholarship, and art books by or about U.S. Hispanics. Established in 2017, the Ambroggio Prize is given annually and is the only award of its kind in the United States that honors American poets whose first language is Spanish.
  • Only one manuscript may be submitted per applicant.
  • One title page is requested and it should list the manuscript title only. The author's name must not appear on any page of the manuscript. 
  • Manuscripts must be .doc, .docx, or .pdf files.
  • Applicants who have published poems in magazines may include acknowledgment notes in the "Acknowledgments" field. Do not include an acknowledgements page in the manuscript file.
  • The judge for the 2019 Ambroggio Prize is Rosa Alcalá.
  • Please see here for complete guidelines

Academy of American Poets